Human Resources

Welcome to the website of the Office of Human Resources at SUNY Optometry. This website provides information about relevant policies and procedures, benefits information, links to important SUNY information and posting of current college vacancies.

For questions or more information, please contact:

Guerda Fils
Assistant Vice President for Human Resources
Phone: (212) 938-5883
Email: gfils@sunyopt.edu

Vacant
Assistant Director of Human Resources
Phone: (212) 938-5880

Diane Siracusa
Human Resources Associate
Phone: (212) 938-5880
Email: dsiracusa@sunyopt.edu

Dwayne Moore
Payroll Examiner 2
Phone: (212) 938-5671
Email: dmoore@sunyopt.edu

Holiday Schedule
Read More

New York State Holiday Schedule

January 2018

Monday, January 1: New Year’s Day
Monday January 15: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

February 2018

Sunday, February 12: *Lincoln’s Birthday
Monday, February 19: Washington’s Birthday (Observed)

May 2018

Monday, May 28: Memorial Day

July 2018

Wednesday, July 4: Independence Day

September 2018

Monday, September 3: Labor Day

October 2018

Monday, October 8: Columbus Day

November 2018

Tuesday, November 6: **Election Day
Sunday, November 11: ***Veterans’ Day
Monday, November 12: ****The College is OPEN
Thursday, November 22: Thanksgiving Day

December 2018

Tuesday, December 25: Christmas Day

* The State has designated Lincoln’s Birthday as a floating holiday in 2018 for State employees in certain bargaining units.
** The State has designated Election as a floating holiday in 2018 for State employees in certain bargaining units.
*** Under the Attendance Rules when a holiday falls on a Sunday it is observed on the following Monday.
**** To make sure there are enough classes for students, the College, clinics and classes will be in session.
Veteran’s Day is actually Sunday, November 11, but as is the custom, when the holiday is on a Sunday, the State designates the Monday as the holiday.
Employees who are not required to work on that Monday will have the day off as usual. Persons required to work due to the building being open and activities scheduled, will receive either a holiday comp day or receive holiday pay for those classified employees who may not have signed a waiver.
Please speak to your supervisor to determine if you should come to work.

Accessibility & Diversity Services
Read More
Diversity & Inclusion
Read More